The first government of the 15th Legislature begins its journey this Tuesday with the swearing-in of the 22 ministers of Pedro Sánchez’s new government before the King at the Zarzuela Palace, starting at half past nine. The new government has the same number of ministries as the current one, which had 22 portfolios.

Afterwards, the ministers will carry out the traditional handover of portfolios at the headquarters of the respective ministries. The first Council of Ministers will take place tomorrow, Wednesday, when the new government will have its family photo taken at Moncloa Palace. Meanwhile, the Congress Bureau, with a progressive majority, meets to give the green light to the amnesty law.

Regarding the composition of Sánchez’s new Executive, according to Europa Press and El Pais yesterday, Félix Bolaños will be Minister of the Presidency and Relations with the Courts, as he has been until now, but he will also add the portfolio of Justice. This will be fundamental in a legislature dominated by the amnesty law, of which he is the main architect.

On the other hand, the Minister of Finance and Public Function, María Jesús Montero, will repeat in her post, but will also occupy the fourth vice-presidency. The rest of the vice-presidencies will be in the hands of Nadia Calviño, Yolanda Díaz and Teresa Ribera. The former president of the Canary Islands, Ángel Víctor Torres, will be the new Minister of Territorial Policy and Democratic Memory. This post was previously held by Isabel Rodríguez. The former Mayor of Barcelona, Jordi Hereu, will be the new Minister of Industry. Margarita Robles will hold the Defence portfolio; Fernando Grande-Marlaska, the Interior Ministry; José Manuel Albares, the Foreign Ministry; and Luis Planas, the Agriculture Ministry. All of them will repeat their posts. Óscar Puente, former mayor of Valladolid and current MP, is the new Minister of Transport; Isabel Rodríguez heads the Ministry of Housing. Pilar Alegría continues to head Education and Vocational Training, and also take over Sports and will be the new spokesperson for Sánchez’s government. She replaces Isabel Rodríguez. Ana Redondo, number two of the mayor of Valladolid, Óscar Puente, is the new Minister of Equality.

On behalf of Sumar, the former leader of Podemos, Pablo Bustinduy, will replace Ione Belarra in Social Rights and Agenda 2030, and will also take on the Ministry of Consumer Affairs. In total, Sumar will have five ministries in the coalition government. Its spokesman, Ernest Urtasun, is the new Minister of Culture; the leader of Mas Madrid, Mónica García, Minister of Health; and the IU spokeswoman, Sira Rego, will head the Ministry of Children and Youth. Podemos is left without a portfolio.

Tomorrow, Wednesday, the first Council of Ministers will be held. The new government has the same number of ministries as the current one, which had 22 portfolios.



pedro sanchez presidente

Photo: Congress of Deputies.